Filmmaking To The Max: What Do You Regret?

getting-personal
first-time-filmmaker

(Kyla) #1

Hi! I’m Kyla, teenage filmmaker & creator of the teen drama webseries To The Max. This column will serve both as a production diary and an ever-growing list of how I’ve found my way around every issue I’ve come across and every mistake I’ve made.

Regret is normal. Everyone’s said something at some point and then thought at some time later that it was the dumbest possible thing they ever could have said and they should not have said it. Or at least, I hope people have experienced that. I haven’t if you haven’t. Have you?

Anyways, regret is just as normal and common when it comes to your own creative work, in terms of writing/directing/producing/everything. I balance between thinking I’m a great writer and absolutely loathing everything I write, which is a fun mindset to have. A lot of the time with To The Max, we’d be shooting something and a line would sound wrong and I’d regret not double-checking the script. Or I’d make a perfect schedule and then realize I forgot about a commitment a cast member had already told me about and I’d regret not writing it down.

The thing about regrets and mistakes though is that they’re completely useless unless you take advantage of them and decide to learn from them. There’s no use wallowing in “I shouldn’t’ve done that” when you can look to the future and figure out what you could change for the next time something like this comes up. You have to look at where you went wrong, where things shifted and you no longer were proud of what you were doing, and adapt.