Now Entering Anytown, USA: Brave Actors Only!

getting-personal
acting

(Darek Kowal) #1

Hi! I’m Darek Kowal, creator of the comedy/horror web series ANYTOWN, USA! My show tells the story of an every-day, All-American, modern family … of cannibals, living in suburbia and dealing with rude neighbors the best way they can … by eating them. Our first 10 episode season is available at www.anytownusaseries.com1 and season 2 is currently filming! Besides Anytown, I’ve been a professional writer for over 10 years, received a B.A. from Columbia College Chicago, and have written feature scripts for several independent production companies, including the producers of ABC’s Castle.

I’ll be doing a regular posting here at Stareable, in hopes of sharing my experiences with the filming of season 2 & any other thoughts and observations I can make about media and the creative process.

Today we’re talking about casting issues, and how far a creator should go to accommodate an actor. Let’s get started!

When I talk about actors, I use terms like ‘brave’ and ‘fearless’ a lot. I’m referring to their willingness to take on roles/material that many would find ‘challenging’ or ‘risqué’.

Case in point: Finding an actor to play a character who shoots paint out of his butt. Not an easy task! But, low and behold, Brock Ward emerged and gave the world the character ‘Poocasso’ (Season 1 Episode 4).

But, if I’m being honest, Brock wasn’t originally cast as Poocasso. I’d offered the role to another actor who was, at first, “very excited” to join the show.

Then, he read the script.

It’s funny how quickly “very excited” can change into “unfortunately passing” due to the polite but obviously fake excuse of “scheduling conflicts”.