AMA! Justin Morrison - Cinematographer

(Justin Morrison) #1

My name is Justin Morrison. I’m a cinematographer and producer. I, along with a small group of my friends started web series called Break a Leg back in 2006 that went for 3 years. During that time, we created a production company called Happy Little Guillotine Studios or HLG. We focused primarily on branded content with our first big gig being a 3 week cross country reality show series sponsored by 7-Eleven and partnered with the Indie 500. We have shot a couple different digital series and many digital commercials and are presently pitching a new series entitled Binge.

Having learned most of my camera and lighting skills while shooting with my team in the San Francisco area, we had to figure out many things on our own outside of the Hollywood studio system. While HLG is now based in Los Angeles and we do now have access to many of the tools used in bigger budget Hollywood productions, I find that my time trying to accomplish cinematic moments during my early web series days with just my camera and miscellaneous scraps found at Home Depot has helped me greatly in problem solving on set when things don’t go as planned.

So if any one has any questions in regards to production, types of cameras to use, or what it is you need to do to actually make this crazy hobby your career, shoot them my way!

We've got an AMA for that!
7 Ways to Make Your Second Season Better Than Your First
(Bri Castellini) #2

Hey Justin! Thanks so much for being here today! When did you get into filmmaking, and into web series in particular? Why did a web series seem like a good idea, especially back in 2006 when they weren’t as much of a thing?

(Anna Bateman) #3

Hi Justin!! Congrats on everything you’re up to! Can you talk more about accomplishing cinematic moments in web series, especially without, like, any money?

(Bri Castellini) #4