AMA- Megan Brotherton

(Megan Brotherton) #1

Hi there!

I am the writer/producer/actress behind Everybody Does It and a new short called Buttercup. I directed a webseries called Golden California and wrote/directed/produced several online sketches including This is Why You Can’t Use the Bathroom in a Romper in collaboration with Funny or Die (13M views).

I am happy to answer any questions about writing and directing your own content, releasing shorts online and in festivals or anything else that comes to mind!

We've got an AMA for that!
(Bri Castellini) #2

Hey Megan! Thanks so much for being here today! First question- when did you get into filmmaking, and into web series in particular?

(Jane) #3

Hi Megan! Do you have any experience writing with a partner? I’m about to and I’ve never done it before and wondered if you had any tips!

(Meg Carroway) #4

13 M views!!! wow! I definitely have a lot of questions, so I guess I could start with… what are your best tips for releasing shorts/ online videos so they make the most impact? Are there certain sites best to promote the work on, best times of day, or something like that?

(Jane) #5

Yes definitely I would also like to know the secret to 13 million views!!

(Megan Brotherton) #6

I started as an actress. I was cast in a web series and mentioned to the creator that I was interested in directing. He gave me an episode to direct. It went well so on his next series he asked me to direct half of the entire series. It was a greta introduction for me because I was only directing (not producing) so it wasn’t too overwhelming.
I also became interested in directing after writing my own material and having someone else direct it. He did a fine job but I realized I could direct my own writing best:)

(Blair Hunter) #7

When you say in collaboration with FoD… did they commission it or did you just release it on their site and it did well?

(Bri Castellini) #8