Anytown USA Creator Darek Kowal - AMA

Hi, I’m Darek Kowal, creator of the comedy/horror web series ANYTOWN, USA! I’m a graduate of Columbia College Chicago, where I received a BA in Film with a concentration in screenwriting. I’ve written a feature script for Beacon Pictures (producer of Air Force One & ABC’s Castle), written, directed, produced, & financed my own micro-budget feature LULLABY, and created my 10 episode web series about a lovable family of cannibals!

I’m here to talk about the ins & outs of creating content with little to no money, answering any questions about film school, moving across the country to follow your ambitions, working with actors & crew, the writing process, theme, satire, social commentary, offending people, and any other general life queries you may have!

2 Likes

Hey Darek! Thanks for being here! Can you talk about how you got into the industry, and when/why you decided to do indie content?

Hi Bri! Thanks for having me! After graduating film school in Chicago, I moved to LA with a buddy and started looking for work. For the first few months, I was working full-time at 2 unpaid internships, losing money by the day haha, but learning a lot. I eventually got a job at a VFX studio, but just as an office manager. It was cool because I could be alone at my desk writing all day. Through my job and my internships, I made contacts w/ a producer at Beacon Pictures who saw that I wrote really great script coverage, and eventually asked me to write a spec comedy for them.

1 Like

Did that script ever go anywhere? What did you learn about that process, and can you explain what you mean by “spec”?

As far as creating indie content,

I think I just got tired of waiting for people to read my work. From what I could tell about people I knew in LA, nobody really likes to stick their neck out and endorse an unknown writer/his work, because it’s their reputation on the line.