Experienced yet still much to learn

(Adrian Smith) #1

Hello all. I am an experienced filmmaker and storyteller. I am, however, new to creating web series.

To gain traction is it absolutely necessary to have a YouTube channel? Does anyone have experience of building an audience through a dedicated website for the show?

Then if I used YouTube as the host for the streaming video would it still count for revenue share once it hit the required viewership - even if if the video was on a dedicated site and not part of a YouTube channel?

Be gentle with me - I’m on a leaning curve here.

Many thanks…

(Bri Castellini) #2

@avincie @ronVceo @ghettonerdgirl @OSTSG @hermdelica @SnobbyRobot

(Meg Carroway) #3

Are you asking about revenue share with YouTube ads? As in- if people are viewing your embedded YouTube videos on a third party website, would you still have to share revenue from a pre-roll add?

(Meg Carroway) #4

If that’s what you’re asking, then yes, you still have to revenue share. The videos, though embedded, are still HOSTED on YouTube, and any YouTube-based ads (pre-rolls or banner ads) are still being provided/matched to your video BY YouTube, so you’d still be splitting the revenue.

(Bri Castellini) #5

Yup. The only way you wouldn’t have to split revenue is if you’re placing ads directly on your website, like by having a widget for ads as a sidebar modal or something (like on a news website where they have a bunch of ad boxes). Those ads are hosted on your website, and therefore you have no one to share them with.

(Bri Castellini) #6