Filmmaking To The Max: Brainstorming

pre-production
getting-personal

(Kyla) #1

Hi! I’m Kyla, teenage filmmaker & creator of the teen drama webseries To The Max. This column will serve both as a production diary and an ever-growing list of how I’ve found my way around every issue I’ve come across and every mistake I’ve made.

As my webseries “To The Max” nears the end of production (one last shoot day on Saturday!), I thought it might be fun to take a detour down memory lane for this column. And by that, I mean I went back in my Google Docs and my messages with my best friend to when I started conceptualizing the webseries.

Here was how the first Google Doc started:

“Teens tryna accomplish their dreams + save a woke radio station in their teeny tiny town.”

(I’m a great writer. Hire me.)

In my messages to my friend, I had barely thought about producing it-- I was caught up in writing and planning. So young. So naive. (This was over a year ago, I’m allowed to say that.)

“hi
can u read smth for me?
it’s for the thing I sent u the description for
I think it’s a webseries/TV show maybe?”

As I was looking back at these relics, I started wondering about my brainstorming process. It was musical theatre season when I first came up with it, and I do not remember anything from the March to May except for “A wop baba loo bop? A wop bam boo!”

So I combed through everything I could find from the conceptualization of To The Max (which is not much because I’m pretty sure I dreamed one of the characters and it started from there) and looked at all my recent notes as I look to the future and jot down ideas.

If you’re struggling to brainstorm-- if you need a new take on something-- if you want to write something that matters to you-- look no further than this teenage girl telling you what to do!

WRITE WHAT YOU KNOW

“‘Write what you know’, so they say. All I know is I don’t know what to write or the right way to write about it!”