How Many Episodes for New Series

(Michael Mills) #1

I’m new to making web series and am curious as to how many episodes would be recommended for the initial season? Looking to be a more narrative series around the activities of an athlete and are hoping to gain some exposure for funding to continue the series. Any thoughts or suggestions?

1 Like
(Herman Wang) #2

The nice thing about web series is there’s no hard and fast rule, so make it as long as you think the story needs. We do 6 per season, but I’ve also seen 10 and 20

2 Likes
(Michael Mills) #3

Gotcha. Ours will be a sort of reality, athlete’s narration of their journey type of show. How much time do you have or have seen between episodes?

(Ghetto Nerd Girl) #4

However many you need to tell your story. I’ve seen web series with long and short episodes. Both seem to work depending on genre, type of story, etc.

1 Like
(Herman Wang) #5

Our episodes average around 5 minutes so a season is about a half hour to tell a season arc

1 Like
(Arthur Vincie) #6

I think between 6 and 10 episodes is a good amount for a first season. Generally you want to shoot a whole season at a time so you can take advantage of having the cast/crew/gear/locations all together at one time. I used to think releasing the whole season at once was the way to go, but now I’ve come around to Bri’s way of thinking - that releasing 1-2 eps at a time is better, cause you can build an audience over time.

The ultimate determination is your budget and the scope.

“The Feels” had the most eps per season I’ve seen - 30 episodes - but each episode was 3-7 minutes and usually featured one-to-two cast, were shot on 1 or 2 locations that the creators had free access to.

If you’re doing a vlog style (fixed camera, one take) then I think it’s traditional to have more episodes.

“The Spell Tutor” had fewer eps per season but Herman your eps were a little longer and you had a larger cast.