How to deal with glory-seeking ego-maniacs on set

getting-personal

(Alex Le May) #1

When I was a young filmmaker and before there were web series and vlogs and all manner of content types we have today, I could often be heard saying things like “I can’t make it today, I have a shoot”. I’d say it just loud enough for other people to hear. I might be seen on set throwing my opinion around like a monkey throwing his poop. Or, I’d take self-righteous stances on ‘how things should be done’. I didn’t have many credits. I hadn’t sold anything of note and what little success I had, I wielded like I had just won an f’ing Oscar. That, my friends, made me a glory-seeking asshole.

There is a famous quote by Constantin Stanislavski, the Russian acting teacher and dramatist that can take full credit for developing the modern day acting style we see in today’s film and television (look him up, he’s a badass). The quote goes something like this: “Love the art in yourself, not yourself in the art”.

I’ve followed this ever since the day someone told me to stop being a big shot and start doing the work. It’s basically saying, put your focus on the work, do it quietly and forget the idea of getting people to take notice of how cool you are.

The best creators I know are humble, I mean truly humble. I never hear them talking about how successful they are, how much they get paid, what well-known people they work with. They just quietly and patiently do the work and because of that, their work stands on its own. If they get all the credit, great. But if they don’t, that’s okay too. They move on to the next job with ease.