How to Work with Child Actors

(Ghetto Nerd Girl) #1

This column is written by Sally Hassan, the creator of Ghetto Nerd Girl. I talk about how to get through the vital steps of making a web series as smoothly and painlessly as possible.

I am by no means an expert on the subject matter, but by taking a risk I learned a lot. I’m not exposed to kids on a daily basis nor am I a parent. The last time I worked with kids was in college handling an unruly bunch at a daycare facility in a gym. This was very different! The first and only time I worked with a child on a film set was while I was studying abroad in Australia. My classmate decided to use her niece as our talent and she did not speak English. That was rather challenging.

There might be a ton of alarms going off in your head as you read this. I was in the same predicament. Word on the street is that if you’re an indie filmmaker, the three major components you should stay away from are animals, a large cast, and children. I managed to ignore 2 of these 3 rules. The main reason being that it can kill your budget, but I believe there are ways around this if you really need it to tell your story.

Michelle Burger in Episode 2.1 Baked Babysitter

When it came to my real life story I knew it’d be essential to have at least one kid character. The writer in me said, “Do it now and ask questions later.” The producer in me said, “Are you mad?” The writer won as usual, which turned out okay in this instance. I wrote away and dealt with the producing part later.