Hypnotic: The Web Series

(Paul Ramsay) #1

Hey gang! I’m so excited to share my web series with you here on Stareable. I’m a professional hypnotist, and I’ve toured the United States for over a decade. I get the same questions about hypnotism over and over again, no matter where I go in the country, so finally I decided to make a reality web series in the hopes of educating the broader public about what it’s really like to be a hypnotist.

I teamed up with the amazing guys at Anchor Line, and they followed me on tour. My biggest challenge was that I demanded that all of the footage be truly real. We didn’t have writers, and I was the closest thing to a producer. Because I’m a board certified hypnotist who sees clients when I’m not on tour, and I’m also an instructor of hypnotism for people who want to get certified, I felt that it was really critical that I kept everything in the series authentic.

So I guess my central question to all of you is, how do you make a reality show that’s real AND truly entertaining? Because while I managed to make one that was completely real, I missed the mark on the entertainment scale with this one. It has small moments here and there that are really fun, but the overall project just didn’t get it done.

It’s so important to me that I protect my integrity as an entertainer and also as a consultant who helps people change their lives with hypnosis. I can’t produce a show where we fake stuff, but I understand that I need to bring more to it than what I got from this first go round.

What would you do?

(Bri Castellini) #2

Excited to have you today Paul! One question before I watch and give critique- how do you make your LIVE shows entertaining? What have you learned as an on-stage performer about what an audience finds compelling?

(jimbo35) #3