James Boo - AMA about documentary filmmaking, social impact, work-work balance, how to start anything

(James Boo) #1

I’m a Brooklyn-based documentary filmmaker dedicated to non-fiction media that make a social impact. I spent my first 8 years in NYC working a more-than-full-time job in tech (management, business operations, product development) while also being a freelance food writer, then transitioned to documentary shorts and ultimately found my web series calling with 1 Minute Meal. After saving cash and making strategic plans for about a year, I quit my day job in March 2017 and will be working on documentary as long as I can keep it going.

I’m now working on two major projects:

• Mass Romantic,” a feature documentary about an eccentric math scholar building the world’s most unlikely film archive in India
  • “This Asian American Life” (working title), a podcast-to-be that will help Asian American storytellers usher out the mainstream media’s lingering image of Asian Americans as a perpetually foreign monolith

Here’s what I can help with:

• Documentary production, direction, cinematography, and editing
  • How to prove out your idea and make it real in a short amount of time
  • How to continue becoming a better storyteller while working a demanding day job
  • What it’s like to be a one-person band, when that’s a good idea and when it’s a bad idea (spoiler: almost always a bad idea)
  • What it’s like to work on social impact and attempt to improve media representation

We've got an AMA for that!
(Bri Castellini) #2

Hey James! Thanks so much for doing this! Why did you first decide to transition into filmmaking, and into web series in particular?

(Meg Carroway) #3

Hi James! I feel like I recognize your profile image from around these here parts… :slight_smile: Can you explain what you mean by “How to prove out your idea and make your it real in a short amount of time”?

(Blair Hunter) #4