Jonathan Robbins (Clutch, Asset, Out With Dad)

(Jonathan Robbins) #1

Hi everyone!

I have been working in the digital format since the early 2000’s, then creating shorts for ifilm. My short placed as a finalist at the inaugural Triggerstreet Online Festival. My first digital series or “web series” was Clutch (www.clutchtheseries.com) which was named a Webby Honoree, was nominated for Best Action/Sci Fi Series at the Streamys and won me the Indie Series Award for Best Director. In season 3 of Out With Dad (www.outwithdad.com), I took over the co-lead role of Nathan aka Dad, and have been nominated for both IAWTV and ISA Awards for that. And I am the co-EP, director and editor of Asset (www.assettheseries.com) which had funding from the IPF in Canada.
Finally, new this year, I am the Festival Coordinator for HollyWeb.

Ask me about anything to do with production, acting, distribution, or web festivals, or anything else you’d like to know!

We've got an AMA for that!
Shameless Self Promo Thread- February 2nd, 2018
(Bri Castellini) #2

Hey Jonathan! Awesome to have you! First question: How did you get into film/filmmaking?

(Rayne M) #3

I love Out With Dad! How did you get involved with that??

(Jonathan Robbins) #4

I actually started as an actor! It was one of those “the roles aren’t coming, so I’ll create my own” moments. And then I fell in love with the other side of the camera as well and stopped acting in my own projects.

(Bri Castellini) #5

@Ayelette @samlockie @JasonRyan @hermdelica @naje.tv @ghettonerdgirl @DarekKowal @Alex_LeMay @mintypineapple @HackettKate @hailstorm @kmd @avincie @OSTSG @movieguyjon @SnobbyRobot @filmwritr4 @Thomas_Tulak @JukeBlue @JimiJimi @jonathankyall @mkatiehunter @poolwebseries @whoisjonporter @hailstorm @SecretLivesPS

(Bri Castellini) #6

How did you get into web series specifically? Or was that just a natural extension of creating your own things?

(Jonathan Robbins) #7

Thanks Rayne! I love it too :smiley: