Michelle Rose (netTVnow) - Public Relations: Dos and Don'ts

(Michelle Rose Micor) #1

Hello interwebs! I’m Michelle Rose, Founder of netTVnow and all around web series lover!

I fell in love with web series when I stumbled upon Carmilla and I’ve been hooked ever since. Some of you know I work full-time in the PR industry and as a result of thought, decided to help web series creatives by creating a place for them to be featured! We just hit our one-year mark this past May and successfully funded our site for another year! Besides my work on the site, I’ve also helped web series with their PR initiatives as well so I’m excited to talk about the full circle of reporting/media relations.

Got your questions? Ready, set, go!

(I obviously feel the need to shamelessly plug, so find me on Twitter and Instagram @mrose220_ if you feel so inclined but you can find netTVnow on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter: @netTVnow)

We've got an AMA for that!
(Bri Castellini) #2

(Bri Castellini) #3

(Bri Castellini) #4

(Bri Castellini) #5

What would you say are the easiest things people CAN be doing for PR on their shows that they consistently don’t do?

(Michelle Rose Micor) #6

First thing that comes to mind is a press release but only if it has a legit message. General series announcement, funding, etc. I’ve worked with series that put a release out for every single thing (pre-pro, post-pro, filming, etc.) it’s not a good use of your time. I’d say do a general release announcing when your series is airing and if there’s a funding announcement, it would be sensible to create one for that as well.

Also, social media! Social media is big too, but in good taste.

(Bri Castellini) #7

So on social media… everyone knows they should have accounts for their shows, but what do they actually do with them? What is the best way to maximize your social media impact without just being annoying or running out of steam?

(sam lockie-waring) #8