Monica West (Best Thing You'll Ever Do) Seed&Spark Streaming + Pitching Your Ideas

Hi! I’m Monica West – I created the web series Best Thing You’ll Ever Do about the decision to have a baby (or not). My background is in acting (stage, tv, film) and creating comedic music videos and sketches on YT and for production companies in NYC. For more info about me + my work, check out www.bestthingseries.com or follow on twitter: @msmoniwest // intsa: @bestthingseries

I’m excited to share with you that as of today, Best Thing You’ll Ever Do is live on Seed&Spark streaming (btw if you watch us there, you can help us make $$ to make more eps!) I’m also working on pitches to production companies to make more episodes. Something I enjoy about being a creator is thinking of ways to connect business with art. Feel free to ask me anything about making Best Thing, my new relationship with Seed&Spark and pitching your work so that it can be made too – ready? go!

3 Likes

What made you decide to take Best Thing off of Vimeo and start shopping it around elsewhere (eventually ending up on Seed&Spark)?

1 Like

I saw the premiere at Brooklyn Web Fest last year and loved it. I noticed that people reacted to do it mostly as comedy at the screening, although when I went home and saw other episodes, as well as re-watching the episode screened, I had a different experience – not that it wasn’t funny (it was/is) but I found that my experience was different when I saw it alone. Sorry for the long preamble. Here’s the question:

Does seeing Best Thing or other work give you a different perspective on your work? If so, does it influence you as a creator moving forward?

1 Like

How does Seed and Spark work, distribution-wise? And how does being on their platform change how you pitch to other places to get more episodes made?