Never, Never, Never Give Up

(Amen J.) #1

This post is part reassurance to myself and another part reassurance to everyone else out there trying to figure out how how to take their web series to the next level, without resorting to crowdfunding and self-funding.

Image may contain: text
My go to motto on days where I need this reminder.

When I finished the 1st season of my web series last year, I resolved that it would be the last time as an independent filmmaker I would go the above routes. I would learn more about the business side of filmmaking. I would learn what investors and broadcasters are looking for in films. I would scope out relevant grants. I would figure out tax credits. I would understand the importance of marketing and of international co-productions. I would try to foster a similar mindset as “business” folks and not just think purely on the creative level.

As a result, this past year I have spent a lot of time asking questions, setting up coffee dates trying to get to know people who are more established in the industry than myself…and asking more questions about why things are done in a certain way, how someone established themselves, and so on. I read industry news articles, pay attention to emerging trends and look at who are the executive producers on projects I like. I have also spent a lot of time looking for avenues to pitch my web series, while being flexible on the format, to see where it could work as a one-off documentary or as a television series.