Requesting Feedback on Show Format of British Rationals

(Keif Gwinn) #1

Hi Everyone,

I’m Keif, I’ve been producing short films for about 8 years. I’ve been releasing them on www.sketchin.co.uk. I worked on a friends web series last year, and this year decided to make one myself after being disappointed in the speed at which the comedy TV shows could respond to the news. The news is just too fast these days.

So, a friend and I came up with the idea of British Rationals. Ultra-current affairs, we write shoot and release daily in response to the headlines of the day. We wanted to make it as realistic as possible, so the characters would create the comedy.

I’m lead producer, one of the writers on the show (we have a team of 7 writers, and the cast also submit material), I direct the shoot, I run the camera, I edit it, and I did all the after effects.

We meet daily at 10am, finish the script by about midday, go out and shoot for an hour and a half or so, then start editing about 14:15 and release about 15:30, and get it subtitled by about 16:30.

I’d like to know what people felt about

1. How professional it looks?
  2. Are the jokes funny?
  3. Should we be pushing for character based jokes or just any jokes?
  4. Should the performances be more naturalistic?
  5. I think we’ve struck upon the right format for thursday/fridays show, with a cold open, ident, jokey headlines, real headline and introducing the topic to the character over the headline, then response, response, response, next headline. each show having 4 headlines, and each character three/four responses. Is that working for people?

(Bri Castellini) #3

(Keif Gwinn) #4

We’re back for Series 2, starting on the 13th of November. I’ve changed the format slightly to make it quicker to get into the jokes.

(Raja) #5

How professional it looks?: Very professional
Are the jokes funny?: Not all the jokes are working