Sci-Fi/Fantasy Recommendations: Last Life

(Meaghan Cassidy) #1

Welcome back to my weekly Sci-Fi/Fantasy recommendation here at Stareable! I’m spatulawilwheat, aka Meaghan. I’m a student and sci-fi/webseries fanatic, and this is the place where I showcase new and old webseries in the science fiction and fantasy genre.

Last time, I told you a little about the the post-apocalyptic End Times, which you can read here.

Today, I decided to go a bit more onto the fantasy side of things with a show called Last Life.

Last Life

Year(s): 2015-

• Creators: Elesha Barnette/The Puma Squad
  • Where to Watch: YouTube
  • Starring: Kathy DiStefano, Nancy Cooney, John Grohl, Robert Palmer Watkins, Nicola Lambo
  • Overview: Witches who are soulmates in every life are driven apart from each other by evil witches.
  • Fun Fact: The third and final season is currently being worked on!
  • Tags: mc voiceover, witches, badass ladies, lgbtq+ rep, strong female leads, diverse crew & cast, captioned (up to s2e6)

I’m Sloane. And I am part of an ancient coven of dark witches known as the Blood Born. I have lived many lives, with one mission: to reunite with my soul mate. The last time, I died I broke the rules, and now this is my Last Life.

Sloane’s voiceover in every episode tells the plot pretty plainly: Last Life follows Sloane on her search to connect with her soulmate, Taylor, and rescue her from the hands of the opposing light witch coven. It turns out, things aren’t so black and white, and neither the Alina or Blood Born seem to have anyone’s interest in mind but their own.

Sloane and Taylor’s relationship develops and becomes increasingly complex, as Sloane tries to free her from the mind control of the Alina, Taylor tries to remember her previous lives which have been suppressed, leading to some complicated situations between the two.