Sci-Fi/Fantasy Recommendations: lonelygirl15

(Meaghan Cassidy) #1

Welcome back to my weekly Sci-Fi/Fantasy recommendation here at Stareable! I’m spatulawilwheat, aka Meaghan. I’m a student and sci-fi/webseries fanatic, and this is the place where I showcase new and old webseries in the science fiction and fantasy genre.

Last week: Anamnesis. Check that out here.

lonelygirl15

Year(s): 2006-(2016??)

• Creators: EQAL
  • Where to Watch: The series takes place on MANY channels, the first season is compiled here as a playlist and others can be found easily by searching.
  • Starring: Jessica Rose, Yousef Abu-Taleb, Jackson Davis
  • Overview: A 16-year-old girl’s vlogs depart from usual teenage drama into cult territory.
  • Fun Fact: The show was originally portrayed as a real blog, with Bree sending video responses to real YouTubers, posting on MySpace, and talking about being a teenager.
  • Tags: vlog-style, female lead, small cast, heavy transmedia, main character in what is essentially a cult, religion

“Hi guys! Um, So this is my first video blog. I’ve been watching for a while and I really like a lot of you guys on here.”

The first words of the eponymous lonelygirl15, aka Bree, began the first real transmedia webseries in a quite mundane way. What’s interesting about lonelygirl is how easy it is to get sucked into the universe and lore. Simply reading the LG15 wiki can be a rabbit hole that spans several hours (trust me, I know). The series is something else entirely. It’s hard to get into, but once you do it’s like a black hole.