Sci-Fi/Fantasy Recommendations: Relativity

(Meaghan Cassidy) #1

Welcome back to my weekly Sci-Fi/Fantasy recommendation here at Stareable! I’m spatulawilwheat, aka Meaghan. I’m a student and sci-fi/webseries fanatic, and this is the place where I showcase new and old webseries in the science fiction and fantasy genre.

Last week, I delved into the waitstaff of the afterlife of Here We Wait, which you can find here.

Yesterday, we’re talking about Relativity.

Relativity

Year(s): 2016

• Creators: Chris Cherry
  • Where to Watch: YouTube
  • Starring: Michelle Agresti, Jon Esquivel, Dana Shiree
  • Overview: College student receives a mysterious package. Time is complicated. Your brain will hurt.
  • Fun Fact: The entire series was shot in two days with six people.
  • Tags: small cast, female main character(s), time travel

Relativity is an indie science fiction webseries. Relativity is a series about time travel. Relativity is what I imagine LSD feels like. Relativity, above all, is a lesson in small budget productions.

The thing with low budget sci-fi, is, most of the time it’s badly done, obvious CGI. The rare gems (a good example; see: the movie Primer, another time travel flick) all have one thing in common: high-concept, skillful execution of a plot which can be played out in a commonplace setting. Relativity, for example, takes place entirely in a dorm room at one angle. Special effects are limited to disorienting audio and moving the camera in a clever way.

Speaking of the camera: the point of view of the series seems to follow the mysterious object students Erin, Perry, and Candace find themselves trapped with. We never actually see said object, but the camera angle rises, falls, and tilts as the object is perceived as moving. It’s a clever trick that really sells the concept.