Violences in a web series on youtube

(Ian David Diaz) #1

Can anyone help me answer this question? What’s the score with violence in a web series on youtube? Do you have to tick the Age-restricted square which could mean fewer views, will it be not suitable for most advertisers? I’ve noticed on my other channel, even though I have a crap load of subscribers if I put up a clip with anyone getting shot it get flags for not suitable for most advertisers. In some cases, it could be someone getting punched and it gets flagged.

I watched a clip from the Punisher the other day on youtube lots of people getting shot yet the clips had an ad. Is this why there so many comedy web series on youtube?

I have a new web series coming out soon and it does having people getting shot, I was just wondering.

I would appreciate it if anyone can help.

(Bri Castellini) #2

@movieguyjon @hermdelica @ronVceo @ZackMorrison18?

Here’s the YouTube guidelines:

https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/6162278

Violence: Video content where the focal point is on blood, violence, or injury, when presented without additional context, is not suitable for advertising. Violence in the normal course of video gameplay is generally acceptable for advertising, but montages where gratuitous violence is the focal point is not. If you’re showing violent content in a news, educational, artistic, or documentary context, that additional context is important.

First of all, I’ll say that unless you meet the new harder guidelines for YouTube Partner, you won’t have to worry about advertising at all.

Second, since your show is contextually violent/ an action series, it MIGHT be a little more leniently judged. Although for smaller channels especially that might not be true. YouTube’s kind of all over the place these days

Third, re:

There are a few reasons, in my opinion, why people do comedy: