Webfest Berlin Founder and Director, Meredith Burkholder - AMA

(Meredith Burkholder) #1

Hi, I am the founder and director of the first international, digital short form series festival in Germany – Webfest Berlin. I studied Art History at Boston University before beginning my career as a freelance producer for photography and television in New York City. We’re gearing up for a big 3rd edition of Webfest Berlin will take place on September 8-9, 2017. I can answer questions about Webfest Berlin, web series festivals, and the international web series market. What are these ‘webfests’ and what can they do for your series?? I’ll let you in on the secret :slight_smile:

We've got an AMA for that!
(Bri Castellini) #2

Hi Meredith! Why did you start Berlin Webfest, and why did you make it specific to web series?

(Joseph Steven Heath) #3

What’s something that would make you immediately disregard a submission? Also how important are cover letters?

(Meredith Burkholder) #4

Hi Bri! I started Webfest Berlin after being pretty burned out from working in commerical advertising and reality TV. I moved to Berlin from NYC and started helping out on a web series which then won the grand jury prize at the Melbourne WebFest which meant it got into the Marseille Webfest and LA WebFest, and I thought, Berlin NEEDS this. It’s something I’m truly passionate about, moving the industry forward and in a direction where independent creators can get their work seen and tell different kinds of stories and generally be creative and break the rules!

(Bri Castellini) #5

Awesome! What web series were you working on?

(Chelsey Saatkamp) #6

Hi Meredith! Thanks for taking the time. I guess for most festivals in general I’m most curious in the judging criteria…What do you value most when evaluating a series or what’s the ranking of elements? Production quality? Writing? Acting? Unique voice? Something else?

(Hailey Harper) #7