What are effective ways to keep everyone focused on set?

(Kyla) #1

so I’m working with a bunch of teenagers, which is honestly a really great time, but I have problems running my sets. when we’re doing a big group scene or a scene with extras, it’s hard to keep everyone focused and quiet, especially when we have massive time constraints.

I’m not big on yelling-- it’s aggressive and too loud for our school environment-- but I have had to turn to that just to get everyone under control and quiet. recently, yelling has stopped working, mostly because I’m a fellow student and I’m not as respected as an adult would be in this scenario, and because they’re so used to it now. for some recent shoots, if I call out “quiet on set”, people try to finish their sentences at the same volume they were, and they only shut up when one of our actors shouts “hey”, mostly because he’s loud and can be intimidating. him doing that means that they lose respect for me.

I need to figure out a way to get everyone focused and get situations under control without yelling and without deferring to anyone else to get things quiet. has anyone else had this problem or is it just a teenage thing? does anyone have any tips to deal with this?

happy holidays!

Trouble getting cast to focus
(Bri Castellini) #2

I say you use “hey” boy as an advantage. Work out a system where he does that and then you loudly say “Thanks [name]! Aaaand action!” As long as you’re in control/‘command’ of when ‘hey’ happens, it translates.

The other option is to just do your normal thing and then call action even if they aren’t ready and they’ll figure it out pretty quick. The first take might be a bit rough but people don’t feel shamed if they aren’t ruining something but just delaying it. They do feel shamed into shutting up if they ruin a take, though.