What are some festivals you think are worth it?

(Ajay) #1

Are there ones you try to avoid?

The best Web festivals? The worst Web festivals? Your experience in this?
What are some free/cheap festivals?
(Pablo Andreu) #2

I’m a newbie and can only comment from an attendance standpoint, since I haven’t started the process of entering festivals, but Brooklyn Web Fest was worth going to.

The panels weren’t fluff sessions; the panelists actually had practical advice, and I made some connections there that are still bearing fruit six months later. I’m planning on entering my web series this go-round, so I’ll leave another post in a few months.

(Bri Castellini) #3

I didn’t go to Brooklyn but hear good things. For sure don’t get tricked by Web Fest New York- It sounds legit but the people who run it are terrible at communication, they keep pushing the festival announcements and dates back, and frankly they seem pretty sketchy.

Also, though I doubt anyone else has submitted here, I’ve been having trouble with the First Contact Film Festival- extended periods of no contact, still haven’t made selections (20 days late), the website link is broken, etc.

(Sunny Larkson) #4

Pilot Light TV Fest is really good, and very responsive on social media and on email. I wish their laurels were transparent, though.

(Arthur Vincie) #5

I’ve had good experiences so far with the TO Webfest (based in Toronto) - they’ve been very communicative about what screeners/media they need, the festival schedule, what comps/passes are available, etc. They also keep their website up to date, which is always a good sign.

I’m heading up there at the end of this month, so I’ll have a more full report.

If you’ve made a sci-fi/horror project, I can’t recommend Shriekfest (out in LA) enough. The founder, Denise Gossett, is still running it (it’s in its 13th or 14th year) and she’s just terrific. It’s in October, so I think some of their deadlines are coming up.

(Bri Castellini) #6